Help or Not?

So earlier this evening I was sitting in my car waiting for the rain to die down a little before getting out to use the atm at the bank. It was pouring rain and flooding the streets. I noticed an old lady asking the people in the car beside me for spare change. I’m not sure if they gave her anything or not but I got a little nervous, it being Jacksonville and not a very good part of town, hoping she wasn’t going to come to my car. After a few minutes I noticed her walking up. She had an old brown blanket with holes in it draped on her shoulders. She had a walker with some bags of stuff on it, she had like some sort of brace on her foot and she was wearing really old flip-flops. She approached my car window. I didn’t roll my window down or anything because you never know what to expect, and I was alone. She said, “I’m no harm to you…I’m no harm to anyone….I just wanted to ask if you had any spare change for me?” I shook my head and said, “No, I’m sorry.” (I’m actually not doing so well right now myself and I didn’t have any change on me) She hobbled away to the next car in the parking lot and they gave her a few bills. I felt sorry for her, but I have no idea what her story is. I prayed for her. But I thought, you can never be too careful with things like this. A stranger approaching your car, not the greatest area of town, etc. Also, who knows what she really wants the money for, drugs, alcohol, or something? Then on the other hand I thought, what if she really is homeless and extremely needy? And she can’t catch a break at all? What if her life has totally crumbled around her and this poor old lady is forced to live on the streets?

I just never know what to do when people like this ask me for money. I think the best thing I can do for them is pray for them, whatever their situation may be. In a better scenario, somewhere else maybe I would give. But like I said, you just never know.

I don’t know, people may think it’s weird… but I just wanted to express how I felt about this. I felt really bad for her. I know she is just one of the MANY homeless/needy people but she is a person too. And I wish I knew her story.

~Heaven

1117e8b7d951832cf46cd058980eaeee

P.S.

Check out my spur of the moment music video I uploaded today! Hopefully I’ll be uploading a little more regularly. I’ve just been super busy! I know it’s not good, but I just wanted to record something. So I hope you enjoy. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

