My Dad

I found a picture of my dad today. It was a picture I took a couple years ago of him and my youngest baby sister, out in our backyard in Minnesota. Floods of memories came back and I just remember feeling like he really loved us. I felt such joy taking that picture. But now when I look at the photograph, I just see right through the smiles on their faces, I see the pain and fear piercing through my  little sister. And I see what a troubled and mentally unstable person my dad is. As I looked at the picture tears filled my eyes. I never thought it would turn out like this. I never thought I’d wake up one day and finally realize that my own dad didn’t love me, and that I had been living in his lie for my entire life. Sometimes I just wish so much that I had a real dad who really loved me and cared for me. But then it comes quickly to my mind that I do. I have a father who will never ever give up on me, who gave everything to have me, who loves me unconditionally forever, and who cares about me more than I could imagine. What more do I need? I am very thankful I have God as my true father. Some people have no hope at all! Some people have lost their father, and even their mother, and they feel desperately alone. I have so much to be thankful for, even though I’ve gone through such tough times in my life. I will always have hope. My story about my dad is far too long to write here. I would have to write a book, which I am working on. So until then,

Love you guys!

~Heaven

cute-father-daughter-quotes.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “My Dad

  1. You are a very brave and compassionate young lady, Heaven. You remind me a lot of my wife, who also had a difficult childhood, yet she is always compassionate and eager to forgive. Love, Uncle Jas

    Like

Leave a Reply

